Date: 4th September 2011 at 10:02pm
Written by:

All top flight clubs were required to submit their 25-player limited squads to the Premier League by September 1st.

The rules state that each club must have a squad containing no more than 17 players who do not fulfil the home-grown player criteria, with the remainder – up to a total of 25 – having to be home-grown.

A home-grown player means one who, irrespective of his nationality or age, has been registered with any club affiliated to the Football Association or the Football Association of Wales for a period, continuous or not, of three entire seasons or 36 months prior to his 21st birthday (or the end of the season during which he turns 21).

Players under the age of 21 (for the 2011/12 campaign those born on or after January 1, 1990) are eligible over and above the limit of 25 players.

The players submitted by the Latics are: Kirkland, Pollitt, Watson, Boyce, Caldwell, D Jones, Thomas, McArthur, Gomez, Rodallega, Diame, Figueroa, Gohouri, Alcaraz, Di Santo, Al-Habsi, Stam, Lopez, Sammon, Maloney, Crusat.

The Latics are allowed as many under 21 players as they wish, so the likes of McCarthy, Moses, McManaman and new loanee Patrick van Aanholt aren`t on the list but available to play because their age means the conditions don`t apply.

Bookmark and Share

Join The Vital Debate

Latics and Proud

Fancy writing an article about the Latics? Why not get in touch, we are always looking for new contributors, after all we are all Latics fans here and want to get the Latics message to the world, so if you have a favourite match or Latics memory get it jotted down, or whatever you want to say put it into an email and send it to us here at Vital Wigan

To get your article published just click here and we will put it onto the site