Date: 1st June 2016 at 4:05pm
Written by:

Wigan Athletic are represented in the Football League’s, League One, Team Of The Season that has been selected after the end of the current campaign.

With all the Play Off Finals now decided and the football pyramid from the Premier League down to League Two set for the coming 2016/17 season, the Football League have announced their divisional Teams of the campaign.

The performances by Craig Morgan, Yanic Wildschut, Will Grigg and manager Gary Caldwell in 2015/16 saw them acknowledged in the final eleven + manager selection.

Explaining the choice, the FL blurb read.


‘The vastly experienced Morgan was made club captain immediately after joining Wigan last summer. He scored one of the crucial goals of the Latics’ season – a 96th-minute winner against Gillingham in January.’


‘After an initial loan spell at Wigan, Wildschut eventually joined on a permanent deal from Middlesbrough. He went on to play a starring role in the Latics’ title win, earning a place in the division’s top 15 players, voted for by club managers.’


‘Will Grigg’s on fire; your defence is terrified”- the Wigan fans will never get tired of hearing that song, and it’s justified with the striker having scoring 25 times en route to their Sky Bet League 1 title success.’


‘Wigan made a bold choice when selecting Caldwell as the man to lead them in Sky Bet League 1 after relegation last season, but it paid dividends as the rookie boss guided them to the title with 87 points from 46 outings.’

The full team selected was:

Jon McLaughlin (Burton Albion), Rico Henry (Walsall), Craig Morgan (Wigan Athletic), Stephen Darby (Bradford City), John Mousinho (Burton Albion), Bradley Dack (Gillingham), Romaine Sawyers (Walsall), Yanic Wildschut (Wigan Athletic), Nicky Ajose (Swindon Town), Will Grigg (Wigan Athletic), Lee Gregory (Millwall).

Manager – Gary Caldwell (Wigan Athletic).